10 Best Dog Toothpastes for Bad Breath (Pup-Approved)
10 Best Dog Toothpastes for Bad Breath (Pup-Approved)
Amazon affiliate disclosure: HerbandFur may earn a commission when you buy through links in this article, at no extra cost to you. Ingredient panels, flavour options, package sizes, sellers, ratings, and availability all change on Amazon, so confirm the live listing and the printed label before you order.
Bad breath in a dog is rarely just a cosmetic problem. The smell usually comes from bacteria and biofilm sitting on the teeth and under the gumline, and those deposits harden into tartar that a toothbrush alone cannot remove. Every manufacturer in this category leans on the same point: several of these listings cite the figure that over 80 percent of dogs aged three and older show some sign of dental disease. That number is a manufacturer talking point rather than an independent finding, but the underlying idea is not controversial, which is why brushing is the single most useful thing most owners can do at home.
Dog toothpaste is not human toothpaste. Human toothpaste is built around fluoride and foaming agents, and dogs swallow whatever goes into their mouth rather than spitting it out. The products below are all formulated for pets to swallow, and every one of them is a dental hygiene product, not a medicine. None of them is intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.
For this roundup we read the live Amazon listings for ten toothpastes and gels positioned for dogs with bad breath, plus a few extra listings we examined for comparison, and recorded only what those pages actually publish: the full listing title, the ASIN, the declared active ingredients and the full ingredient panel where the listing prints one, the item form, the package size, the published directions, the safety and storage wording, and the themes that repeat across the customer reviews the listings themselves summarise.
Read this before you buy anything. A dog toothpaste is not a treatment for dental disease. It is a hygiene product. It is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease, and it is not a substitute for a veterinary dental exam. If your dog has loose teeth, a swelling under the eye, bleeding gums, is dropping food, or will not let you near its mouth, that is a reason to call your veterinarian, not a reason to buy another tube of paste.
How we chose these dog toothpastes
We did not run a lab test, and we did not rank products by the size of their marketing claims. This is a label and listing review. For each product we recorded the declared active ingredients exactly as the listing states them, the full ingredient panel where one is published, the item form, the package size, the published directions, and the safety wording the manufacturer prints.
Four practical filters shaped the shortlist. First, the product had to be a toothpaste or a dental gel for dogs, not a water additive, a spray, a chew, or a dental wipe. Second, the listing had to declare something about its formulation rather than relying entirely on a bare claim. Third, the product had to be usable on a routine basis, which means directions an owner can actually follow. Fourth, we favoured listings that publish a complete ingredient panel over listings that print only a flavour name.
Two gaps in the data are worth stating up front, because they affect how you read the rest of this article. The first is dosing by body weight. Toothpaste is not dosed by body weight the way a supplement is, and none of the ten listings in this roundup publishes a weight-based chart. What they publish instead is a per-brushing instruction, and we record that instruction for each product rather than inventing a weight table. The second is EPA and DHA. Those are omega-3 fatty acids, and they belong to fish oils and joint products, not to dental pastes. No listing in this roundup states an EPA or DHA strength, and we say so rather than padding the article with a number from a different category.
One more note on honesty. Listing pages are marketing documents. Phrases such as clinically proven, vet recommended, and seen in 30 days are claims made by the brand or by the brands that fund the relevant council, not independent findings. We report them as the brand’s claims and flag them as such throughout.
Quick picks: the shortlist at a glance
The table below is the fast version. Every product name links straight to its live Amazon listing, and every link carries our affiliate tag. Read the sections that follow for the declared ingredients, the published directions, and the review themes behind each row.
| Product | ASIN | Item form and size | Headline declared actives | Listing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Virbac C.E.T. Enzymatic Toothpaste, Vanilla Mint | B004ULYZ5Q | Paste in a tube, 2.5 oz | Potassium thiocyanate, with glucose oxidase and lactoperoxidase | View on Amazon |
| Virbac C.E.T. Enzymatic Toothpaste, Poultry | B00RZDXA7K | Paste in a tube, 2.5 oz | Glucose oxidase and lactoperoxidase | View on Amazon |
| Petrodex Enzymatic Dog Toothpaste, Poultry Flavor | B00025K0R6 | Paste in a tube, 6.2 oz | Aspergillus niger fermentation extract in an enzymatic base | View on Amazon |
| Nylabone Advanced Oral Care Natural Dental Kit, Peanut | B006YFYEBQ | Kit: 2.5 oz toothpaste plus angled brush and finger brush | Denta-C blend, ascorbic acid phosphate, sodium hexametaphosphate | View on Amazon |
| Arm & Hammer Complete Care Puppy Dental Kit, Peanut Butter | B08QJNS24Y | Kit: 2.5 oz toothpaste plus brush and microfiber finger brush | Baking soda, calcium carbonate, proteases, thymol, zinc gluconate | View on Amazon |
| TropiClean No Brush Dog Toothpaste, Peanut Butter | B07PFR991F | Gel with a cut-tip applicator, 4 oz | Green tea leaf extract, zinc chloride, mild cleanser | View on Amazon |
| Vets Preferred Enzymatic Dog Toothpaste, Peanut Butter | B0764P1GWJ | Paste in a tube, 3 oz | Saccharomyces enzymes | View on Amazon |
| Petsmile VOHC Accepted Pet Toothpaste, London Broil | B0778GHYXP | Paste in a tube, 2.5 oz | Calprox calcium peroxide, urea peroxide, cetyl pyridinium chloride | View on Amazon |
| Petsmile Teeth Brushing Kit, Rotisserie Chicken | B0989BBVJJ | Kit: 4.2 oz toothpaste plus patented angled brush | Calprox encapsulated calcium and mineral blend | View on Amazon |
| RADIUS USDA Organic Canine Pet Toothpaste | B07HBD23SC | Paste in a tube, 3 oz | Certified organic botanical base, xylitol free | View on Amazon |
1. Virbac C.E.T. Enzymatic Toothpaste for Dogs and Cats, Vanilla Mint, 2.5oz

- Full listing title: C.E.T. Enzymatic Toothpaste for Dogs and Cats, Vanilla Mint, 2.5oz | Plaque and tartar control for fresh breath, pet dental care toothpaste, Dual enzyme system, vanilla mint flavored toothpaste
- ASIN: B004ULYZ5Q
- Declared active ingredients: The listing’s specification table names potassium thiocyanate as the active ingredient and describes a dual enzyme system. The printed ingredient panel reads glucose oxidase, lactoperoxidase, sorbitol, purified water, dicalcium phosphate anhydrous, hydrated silica, glycerine, poultry digest, dextrose, xanthan gum, titanium dioxide, sodium benzoate, and potassium thiocyanate.
- EPA and DHA: Not stated. This is a dental paste, not an omega-3 product.
- Item form: Paste in a tube
- Size: 2.5 ounces, listed at 70 grams, also offered as a pack of two and in beef, malt, poultry, and seafood flavours
- Published dosing directions: The listing does not publish a body-weight chart, because toothpaste is applied per brushing rather than dosed by weight. The directions panel says to read the label before use, and the product bullets direct owners to use a soft-bristled toothbrush such as the C.E.T. dual-ended brush and to apply daily or as directed by a veterinarian, following the veterinarian’s specific advice closely.
- Storage and safety wording: Keep out of reach of children. Eye or skin contact may cause slight irritation. Ingestion of large quantities may cause gastrointestinal effects. The legal line states the paste is for animal use only and is formulated for companion animals, and the bullets note there are no foaming agents so the paste is safe for pets to swallow. The listing also carries the standard statement that dietary supplement statements have not been evaluated by the FDA.
- Recurring review themes: This is the top-listed product in the Amazon dog toothpaste category, with a 4.6 star average across 14,452 ratings. Effectiveness is the most-discussed theme and is overwhelmingly positive, at 1,881 positive mentions against 179 negative. Taste is the second theme and also leans strongly positive, with reviewers calling the vanilla mint flavour the reason brushing stopped being a fight. Pet preference, fragrance, breath quality, and gentleness all lean positive. The recurring negatives are specific rather than general: a small group of reviewers reports a metal tube that develops sharp edges in normal use, another group finds the paste costly for the size, and a few report a separated or streaked batch.
This is the pick for owners who want the most-reviewed paste in the category and a flavour that does not smell like meat. The dual enzyme approach works with saliva rather than relying on abrasion, and the no-foam formula is safe to swallow, which matters more than anything else in a product a dog will lick off the brush. The trade-off is the tube: the review record shows enough complaints about the metal packaging that it is worth storing the tube upright and checking it before each use.
Check the current C.E.T. vanilla mint listing on Amazon
2. Virbac C.E.T. Enzymatic Toothpaste for Dogs and Cats, Poultry, 2.5oz
- Full listing title: C.E.T. Enzymatic Toothpaste for Dogs and Cats, Poultry, 2.5oz | Plaque and tartar control for fresh breath, pet dental care toothpaste, Dual enzyme system, poultry flavored toothpaste
- ASIN: B00RZDXA7K
- Declared active ingredients: The specification table names glucose oxidase and lactoperoxidase, and the material features field reads no foam formula with tarter control. The printed panel on this variant repeats the same dual enzyme system used across the C.E.T. line.
- EPA and DHA: Not stated.
- Item form: Paste in a tube, described as no foam
- Size: 2.5 ounces, listed at 70 grams, also sold as a pack of two
- Published dosing directions: No body-weight chart is published. The product bullets direct owners to use a soft-bristled brush and to apply daily or as directed by a veterinarian, and the directions panel simply says to read the label before use.
- Storage and safety wording: The safety panel states that the toothpaste is formulated specifically for pets and should not be used for humans. The listing also carries the standard FDA disclaimer for dietary supplement statements and is described by the brand as made in the USA.
- Recurring review themes: The poultry variant is the highest-rated of the C.E.T. flavours on this listing, at 4.6 stars across 17,331 ratings. Taste leads the review summary with 755 positive mentions against 59 negative, and pet preference follows at 653 positive against 6 negative, with reviewers describing dogs and cats treating the paste like a treat. Ease of use and cleaning experience both lean positive, with owners noting the tube screws open easily and brushing takes seconds. Breath quality is positive at 148 against 10. The negatives cluster around value, where 60 of 200 mentions are negative, around scent, where some reviewers dislike the poultry smell, and around tolerance, where 51 of 173 mentions report a dog that refused the paste.
If your dog will not tolerate a mint flavour, this is the same formula in a savoury profile, and the review record is unusually strong on palatability. The smell is the honest caveat: reviewers either describe it as obviously chicken or describe it as unpleasant, and there is very little middle ground. For a dog that already likes poultry-flavoured chews, that trade is usually worth it.
Check the current C.E.T. poultry listing on Amazon
3. Petrodex Enzymatic Dog Toothpaste, Poultry Flavor, 6.2oz
- Full listing title: Petrodex Enzymatic Dog Toothpaste, Poultry Flavor, 6.2oz | Cleans teeth & fights bad breath; reduces plaque & tartar; enzymatic, no-rinse formula; poultry flavor; dogs & puppies
- ASIN: B00025K0R6
- Declared active ingredients: The listing describes an enzymatic, no-rinse formula and names no single hero active, but it publishes a full ingredient panel: sorbitol, dicalcium phosphate, water, hydrated silica, glycerin, poultry digest, dextrose, xanthan gum, acidified calcium sulfate, disodium phosphate, potassium sorbate, citric acid, sodium benzoate, and aspergillus niger fermentation extract.
- EPA and DHA: Not stated.
- Item form: Paste, described as a no-rinse formula
- Size: 6.2 ounces, the largest single tube in this roundup, also offered as 2.5 ounces and as a pack of two; flavours are peanut and poultry
- Published dosing directions: No body-weight chart. The directions panel says to store at room temperature, apply a small amount to your finger and let the dog taste it, then apply a small amount to an advanced dental care brush or finger brush, gently pull the lips and cheeks up, and begin brushing with short back-and-forth strokes at the gumline. It adds that you should brush only a few teeth the first time and give a lot of praise during the process.
- Storage and safety wording: The safety panel instructs owners to store the tube at room temperature, states the product is for external use only, says do not swallow, and says keep out of reach of children. It adds that the toothpaste should be introduced gradually, starting with a small amount on your finger before moving to a brush, and that you should be gentle and brush only a few teeth at a time.
- Recurring review themes: Review sentiment on this listing centres on the size of the tube and on the introduction routine. The recurring positive theme is that a single large tube lasts a long time, which owners repeatedly contrast with smaller tubes that run out mid-routine. The recurring negatives are the flavour response of individual dogs and the fact that some owners expect a visible whitening effect the paste does not claim to deliver. The listing itself does not publish a review theme summary in the section we captured, so treat this as the general pattern across the category rather than a quoted breakdown.
This is the volume pick. A 6.2 ounce tube is roughly two and a half times the size of the 2.5 ounce tubes that dominate this category, and the published directions are the most detailed introduction routine of the ten, which makes it a sensible first purchase if you have never brushed a dog’s teeth before. Note the honest limit: the review record for toothpaste generally includes owners who expected whitening, and no product here claims to whiten.
Check the current Petrodex poultry listing on Amazon
4. Nylabone Advanced Oral Care Natural Dog Dental Kit, Peanut Flavor, 2.5 oz
- Full listing title: Nylabone Advanced Oral Care Natural Dog Dental Kit Peanut Flavor 2.5 oz.
- ASIN: B006YFYEBQ
- Declared active ingredients: The listing names a Denta-C blend formulated to help reduce plaque that harbours bacteria, and prints the full panel. The toothpaste reads sorbitol, hydrated silica, glycerin, water, ascorbic acid phosphate, sodium hexametaphosphate, magnesium aluminum silicate, sodium lauryl sulfate, titanium dioxide, natural allergen free peanut flavor, cellulose gum, tetrasodium pyrophosphate, sodium benzoate, potassium sorbate, and sodium copper chlorophyllin. The included brushes are nylon bristles with rubber and plastic handles.
- EPA and DHA: Not stated.
- Item form: A kit rather than a lone tube, comprising one 2.5 ounce bottle of paste plus an angled-neck adult toothbrush and a slip-on finger brush
- Size: 2.5 ounce bottle, 10.5 by 4.75 by 1 inches as packaged
- Published dosing directions: No body-weight chart. The directions say to begin by letting the dog taste a small amount, then rub the teeth and gums in a circular motion with your finger, then introduce the toothbrush or finger brush with a small amount of paste, let the dog taste it again, and brush gently with a back-and-forth motion. No rinsing is necessary and the tube should be stored at room temperature.
- Storage and safety wording: The safety panel carries a choking warning: keep out of reach of children and pets, because the product contains small parts that may pose a choking hazard if swallowed. Directions close with the instruction to store at room temperature.
- Recurring review themes: This listing publishes a detailed theme summary at a 4.4 star average across 6,631 ratings. Taste leads at 192 positive against 22 negative, and pet preference follows at 128 positive, with reviewers describing dogs that wait for the brush. Dental brushing and ease of use both lean positive. The two contested themes are instructive. Size draws 96 mentions with 64 negative, and the recurring complaint is a brush that is simply too large for small mouths, with reviewers describing Chihuahua and terrier mixes. Tolerance draws 45 mentions with 18 negative, including a small group reporting nausea and vomiting, and one reviewer describing the paste as separating and dripping.
This is the pick for someone starting from nothing, because the kit removes the need to buy a brush separately and the finger brush is the gentlest way to introduce the routine. The honest caveat comes straight from its own review summary: the adult brush is too big for toy breeds, so if your dog is under about fifteen pounds, plan on using the finger brush and buying a smaller brush. The second caveat is tolerance, and it is the reason the instructions say to start with a taste rather than a full brushing.
Check the current Nylabone dental kit listing on Amazon
5. Arm & Hammer Complete Care Puppy Dental Kit, Peanut Butter Flavor, 2.5 Oz
- Full listing title: Arm & Hammer Complete Care Puppy Dental Kit, Peanut Butter Flavor, 2.5 Oz | Enzymatic baking soda formula, fluoride-free, peanut butter flavor, toothbrush and microfiber brush included
- ASIN: B08QJNS24Y
- Declared active ingredients: The listing describes a formula built on baking soda, calcium, and an enzyme system. The printed panel reads sorbitol, water, hydrated silica, calcium carbonate, polysorbate 20, tetrasodium pyrophosphate, cellulose gum, sodium chloride, flavor, sodium bicarbonate, zinc gluconate, proteases, and thymol.
- EPA and DHA: Not stated.
- Item form: A three-piece kit: a 2.5 ounce tube of enzymatic paste, a small toothbrush sized for puppy mouths, and a soft microfiber finger brush for introductory training
- Size: 2.5 ounces, also offered as a 5 ounce tube; flavours are peanut butter, chicken, and chicken with peanut butter
- Published dosing directions: No body-weight chart, and in this case the directions are explicitly written for beginners rather than for weight. For first-time brushers, put a small amount on your finger and invite the dog to lick it off, then slowly progress to lifting the dog’s lips and rubbing the paste along the gum line and teeth with your finger. Once the dog is comfortable, put a small amount on a toothbrush or finger brush and repeat. For best results, brush daily.
- Storage and safety wording: The safety panel reads keep out of reach of children, and the listing carries the standard statement that dietary supplement statements have not been evaluated by the FDA and are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. The product description states the formula is fluoride-free, nontoxic, and dye-free, and notes it is designed for puppies and small dogs starting a brushing routine, and also suitable for adult small-breed dogs with dental sensitivity.
- Recurring review themes: The listing positions this as a training kit rather than a treatment, and the honest caveat is printed in its own description: it is described as not a substitute for professional veterinary dental cleaning, but as a way to reduce daily plaque and tartar accumulation between vet visits. Review sentiment in the puppy dental kit category centres on how easily young dogs accept the peanut butter flavour and how useful the microfiber finger brush is in the first weeks. The recurring negative theme across kits of this type is that a toothpaste alone does not remove established tartar, which is a limit of the category rather than of this product.
This is the pick for a puppy or a small breed, and it is the only entry in this roundup whose directions are written specifically around introducing a dog to brushing for the first time. The three-piece design means you get the finger brush and the small brush in one purchase. Worth repeating plainly: the listing itself says this is not a substitute for a professional veterinary dental cleaning, and that is true of every product on this page.
Check the current Arm & Hammer puppy kit listing on Amazon
6. TropiClean No Brush Dog Toothpaste for Teeth Cleaning, Peanut Butter, 4oz
- Full listing title: TropiClean No Brush Dog Toothpaste for Teeth Cleaning, Peanut Butter, 4oz
- ASIN: B07PFR991F
- Declared active ingredients: The listing names green tea leaf extract and zinc chloride in the panel, and describes the gel as made with naturally derived ingredients. The printed panel reads water, naturally derived alcohol, glycerin, artificial peanut-butter flavor, carbomer, green tea leaf extract, zinc chloride at one hundredth of a gram per ten millilitres, and a mild cleanser.
- EPA and DHA: Not stated.
- Item form: Gel with a cut-tip applicator, positioned as a no-brushing product
- Size: 4 ounces, described on the listing as roughly four fluid ounces
- Published dosing directions: This is the one product in the roundup with a genuinely step-by-step application rather than a brushing instruction, and it is still not weight based. Cut the tip off the applicator and apply two drops of gel to each side of your dog’s mouth daily. After application the dog licks its lips, which coats the teeth and gums. For maximum effect, withhold food and water for thirty minutes before and after application. The listing adds that brushing with a Fresh Breath toothbrush and gel speeds up the removal of plaque and tartar, and that cleaner teeth are described by the brand as visible in thirty days when used as directed.
- Storage and safety wording: Keep out of reach of children. If swallowed, contact a poison control centre or seek medical attention right away. The listing states the formula is dye free, paraben free, and sulfate free, and that it contains no sulfates, parabens, dyes, artificial flavours, sorbitol, or neem oil.
- Recurring review themes: The listing publishes its own theme summary. Breath freshness is the cleanest signal in the whole roundup, at 13 positive mentions and zero negative. Effectiveness leans positive at 46 against 10, and ease of use leans positive at 12 against 4, with reviewers describing a two-second daily routine. The contested themes are taste, where 13 of 25 mentions are negative and reviewers describe a gel that smells minty rather than peanut buttery, and scent, which splits almost evenly. The most important negative theme is reaction: 17 of 23 mentions report a dog that became unwell, with reviewers describing stomach upset, diarrhoea, and vomiting, and one reviewer specifically warning owners of senior dogs.
This is the pick if your dog flatly refuses a toothbrush, because the applicator and the licking action mean you never have to open the mouth. The review record is genuinely split in two directions, and both are worth knowing. Owners who stay with it report clean breath within days. A larger share than usual report stomach upset, which makes this the one product in the roundup where starting with a single drop rather than the full two drops per side is clearly the sensible move, and where senior dogs deserve particular caution.
Check the current TropiClean no-brush gel listing on Amazon
7. Vets Preferred Enzymatic Dog Toothpaste for Teeth Cleaning and Dental Care, 3 oz
- Full listing title: Enzymatic Dog Toothpaste for Teeth Cleaning & Dental Care, 3 oz | Peanut butter flavor dogs love, freshens breath, fights plaque and buildup, safe natural formula
- ASIN: B0764P1GWJ
- Declared active ingredients: The specification table names saccharomyces enzymes as the active ingredient and describes the benefit as helping reduce plaque and bacterial build-up and promoting periodontal health. The printed panel reads xanthan gum, water, sorbitol, sodium carboxymethyl cellulose, sodium benzoate, silica, saccharomyces enzymes, potassium sorbate, polysorbate 20, and peanut butter flavor. The brand’s own FAQ states the paste has a creamy texture and a light brown colour because of the peanut butter flavour.
- EPA and DHA: Not stated.
- Item form: Paste in a tube, described as a natural formulation
- Size: 3 ounces, 1.5 by 1.5 by 6 inches as packaged
- Published dosing directions: No body-weight chart. The three-step direction panel says to squeeze a small amount of toothpaste onto your pet’s toothbrush, gently brush your pet’s teeth and gums, and reward your pet with a treat afterwards to make the experience positive. The brand FAQ also confirms that no toothbrush is included with this tube.
- Storage and safety wording: The safety panel reads for pet use only and not intended for human consumption. The listing carries the standard statement that dietary supplement statements have not been evaluated by the FDA and are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. The brand states the paste is produced in a GMP-certified facility in the United States.
- Recurring review themes: This listing publishes a theme summary at a 4.2 star average, and it is the most genuinely divided product in the roundup. Taste leans positive at 31 against 11, and effectiveness leans positive at 24 against 8. Dog preference is close to a coin flip at 41 positive against 29 negative, and dog tolerance is worse than that at 6 positive against 16 negative. Consistency is the sharpest signal on the page: all 11 mentions of consistency are negative, with reviewers describing a runny, watery paste that will not stay on a brush. Value is also negative overall at 6 positive against 12 negative, and reviewers disagree about the scent, with some describing a rubbing-alcohol odour.
This is the pick for an owner looking for a saccharomyces-based enzymatic paste in a peanut butter flavour, and the brand’s transparency about the brown colour and creamy texture is a fair point in its favour. The honest caveat comes from its own review summary and it is unusually blunt: consistency draws eleven mentions and every one of them is negative, describing a paste that slides off the brush. If you have a dog that fights brushing anyway, that texture makes the job harder rather than easier, which is why this sits seventh rather than higher.
Check the current Vets Preferred toothpaste listing on Amazon
8. Petsmile VOHC Accepted Pet Toothpaste, London Broil, 2.5 Oz
- Full listing title: Petsmile VOHC Accepted Pet Toothpaste, London Broil 2.5 Oz, Cats + Dogs | VOHC Accepted, Calprox Powered, Fights Plaque + Tartar, No-Brush Required, Human-Grade, 4-Month Supply, Clinically Proven
- ASIN: B0778GHYXP
- Declared active ingredients: The listing centres on Calprox, described as a non-abrasive blend of encapsulated calcium, phosphates, magnesium, and minerals similar to tooth enamel. The printed panel reads water, glycerin, dicalcium phosphate dihydrate, citric acid, Calprox calcium peroxide, flavor, sodium carboxymethyl cellulose, urea peroxide, phosphoric acid, sodium benzoate, EDTA, cetyl pyridinium chloride, carbomer, potassium hydroxide, and xanthan gum.
- EPA and DHA: Not stated.
- Item form: Paste in a tube, positioned as working with or without a brush
- Size: 2.5 ounces, described by the brand as a four-month supply of daily oral care, also offered as 4.2 ounces and 4.5 ounces and in a rotisserie chicken flavour
- Published dosing directions: No body-weight chart. The directions say to apply a pearl-sized drop of the paste to a Petsmile professional toothbrush for best results, or alternatively to apply it to the pet’s enamel. The product bullets add that the treat-like flavour means most pets look forward to it, and that pets can eat or drink straight after with no rinsing and no waiting.
- Storage and safety wording: For pet use only. Keep out of reach of children. The listing states the formula is made in the USA from human-grade ingredients and is hypoallergenic, vegan, BPA free, and free from parabens, sulfates, silica, and animal by-products, and that it is described as safe for puppies, kittens, adult dogs and cats, small breeds, large breeds, and senior pets. It closes with the standard statement that the product has not been evaluated by the FDA and is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.
- Recurring review themes: This is the product in the roundup that leans hardest on an independent credential rather than on opinion, because the listing states it is accepted by the Veterinary Oral Health Council for the control of plaque and tartar. That acceptance is a real distinction among these ten listings, and it is worth separating from the brand’s own marketing language. The recurring positive theme in the category for Petsmile is acceptance by fussy animals, driven by the savoury beef-style flavour and the no-brush option. The recurring negative themes are the cost per tube relative to the size, and the fact that a no-brush application covers less surface than a brush does.
- Note on third-party claims: The listing repeats the figure that over eighty percent of dogs aged three and older have some form of dental disease. That figure is a widely cited industry statistic rather than a finding from an independent trial, so treat it as the brand’s framing rather than as a measurement of your dog.
This is the pick for the owner who wants the strongest third-party credential and does not mind paying more for a smaller tube. Two things keep it in eighth place rather than first. The first is size: 2.5 ounces described as a four-month supply is generous arithmetic only if you use a pearl-sized drop, and most people use more. The second is application: the no-brush option works, but a brush still reaches more of the tooth surface, and this paste is expensive enough that slathering it on wastes it.
Check the current Petsmile London Broil listing on Amazon
9. Petsmile Teeth Brushing Kit, Toothpaste plus Brush, Rotisserie Chicken, 4.2 Oz
- Full listing title: Petsmile Teeth Brushing Kit, Toothpaste + Brush, Rotisserie Chicken 4.2 Oz | Pet Toothpaste + 45 Degree Patented Toothbrush, VOHC Accepted, Calprox Powered, 6-Month Supply, Human-Grade, Clinically Proven
- ASIN: B0989BBVJJ
- Declared active ingredients: The listing describes the formula as powered by Calprox, a non-abrasive blend of encapsulated calcium, phosphates, magnesium, and minerals similar to tooth enamel, which the brand says dissolves the biofilm where plaque and stains first appear. The kit listing does not print the full ingredient panel in the section we captured, so read the tube before use.
- EPA and DHA: Not stated.
- Item form: A kit: one 4.2 ounce tube of Petsmile professional pet toothpaste in rotisserie chicken flavour plus one Petsmile professional toothbrush with a patented forty-five degree angled head
- Size: 4.2 ounces, described by the brand as a six-month supply; the toothpaste is also offered in a 2.5 ounce size and the kit in a London Broil version
- Published dosing directions: No body-weight chart. The directions say to squeeze a small amount of toothpaste onto the pet toothbrush, gently brush the pet’s teeth and gums in a circular motion, focus on areas with plaque build-up, and brush for about thirty seconds on each side of the mouth. Do not rinse. Use daily for optimal oral health. The product description adds that a pearl-sized amount is the intended quantity.
- Storage and safety wording: Keep out of reach of children. If ingested, seek medical advice. The description states the product is for external use on pets only and that statements about the product have not been evaluated by the FDA and it is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.
- Recurring review themes: The honest framing on this listing is that it publishes the same category statistic as the tube-only version, that over eighty percent of dogs aged three and older have dental disease and that bacteria from infected gums can travel through the bloodstream to the heart, liver, and kidneys. That is a brand framing rather than a finding. The recurring positive theme for the kit specifically is the angled brush, which reviewers in the category describe as reaching further under the gumline than a straight brush, and the larger 4.2 ounce tube. The recurring negative theme is that the brush head is still too bulky for very small mouths such as toy breeds and cats.
This is the pick if you want the VOHC-accepted paste and a proper brush in one purchase rather than buying them separately. The size is the practical advantage over the tube-only listing, and the six-month supply claim is more plausible here than on the 2.5 ounce version. The caveat is the brush head: the forty-five degree angle genuinely helps at the gumline, but it does not shrink the head, so owners of toy breeds should still plan on a finger brush in the early weeks.
Check the current Petsmile brushing kit listing on Amazon
10. RADIUS USDA Organic Canine Pet Toothpaste, 3 oz
- Full listing title: RADIUS USDA Organic Canine Pet Toothpaste 1 Unit, 3 oz, Non Toxic Toothpaste for Dogs, Designed to Clean Teeth and Help Prevent Tartar and Remove Plaque, Xylitol Free
- ASIN: B07HBD23SC
- Declared active ingredients: The listing leads with its certification rather than with a single hero active, and prints the ingredient panel with the organic items marked. It reads water, glycerin, guar gum, sweet potato powder, rice powder, sunflower seed oil, lecithin, coconut oil, papaya fruit extract, olive leaf extract, fennel seed extract, laminaria digitata extract, cinnamon powder, sodium chloride, peppermint indian leaf oil, clove bud flower oil, thyme leaf oil, stevia rebaudiana extract powder, citric acid, and xanthan gum, with all items except water, lecithin, sodium chloride, and citric acid carrying a certified organic mark. The listing explicitly states the formula is xylitol free.
- EPA and DHA: Not stated.
- Item form: Paste in a tube, described as non toxic
- Size: 3 ounces
- Published dosing directions: No body-weight chart, and the directions are deliberately minimal: apply a small amount of toothpaste to a dog toothbrush and brush the dog’s teeth.
- Storage and safety wording: For external use only. Do not ingest. Keep out of reach of children. Avoid contact with eyes. The listing also carries the standard statement that dietary supplement statements have not been evaluated by the FDA and are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.
- Recurring review themes: This is the pick in the roundup with the shortest and least developed review record, and the listing does not publish a theme summary that we captured. The general pattern for organic botanical pastes of this type is that owners choose them specifically because of what is not in them, and the recurring complaint is a strong herbal or peppermint scent that some dogs refuse. Because this listing prints a do not ingest line alongside an organic botanical base, it is a genuine outlier among the ten, and that discrepancy is worth reading carefully before you buy.
This is the pick for owners who are specifically avoiding synthetic ingredients, artificial flavours, and xylitol, and who want a USDA organic claim on the tube. It is also the one listing in this roundup whose safety panel says do not ingest while other dental pastes in the same category are designed to be swallowed, so if your dog gulps the paste rather than letting you brush it, this is not the right product for that dog. For a dog that tolerates brushing and an owner who reads labels, the ingredient panel is the cleanest here.
Check the current RADIUS organic canine toothpaste listing on Amazon
What the reviews say across all ten listings
Reading the theme summaries that these listings publish, a pattern emerges that is worth understanding before you spend anything.
The most common positive theme is not dramatic change. It is palatability. On nearly every product with a detailed summary, taste and pet preference outrank every clinical-sounding theme, because a paste a dog will let you apply is the only paste that gets used. The second positive theme is ease of use, and it usually reads as a version of the same idea: brushing got shorter, or the dog stopped fighting. Breath quality is a consistent third, and on the TropiClean gel it is the cleanest signal in the entire roundup, with no negative mentions at all.
The most common negative theme is format rather than formulation. Reviewers describe brushes too large for small mouths, pastes that are too runny to stay on a brush, tubes that separate or develop sharp edges, and tubes that run out faster than the packaging implies. None of those are reasons to avoid the category, but they explain why two owners can rate the same paste for opposite reasons.
The negative theme that deserves the most attention is digestive reaction. Three separate listings in this roundup carry review mentions of dogs becoming unwell after the paste was used: the Nylabone kit, the TropiClean gel, and to a lesser degree the Vets Preferred tube. That does not mean those products are unsafe for your dog. It means that if your dog has a sensitive stomach, introducing any new paste slowly, and starting with a taste rather than a full brushing, is not optional advice.
One theme is conspicuously absent. Almost nobody in these reviews reports that a toothpaste removed established tartar, because a toothpaste is not designed to. Several listings in the roundup say outright that the product is not a substitute for a professional veterinary dental cleaning. That is the single most useful sentence on any of these pages.
Ingredient glossary: what these toothpaste labels declare
Enzymatic systems. Seven of the ten products describe themselves as enzymatic. The enzymes differ by brand: the C.E.T. line declares glucose oxidase, lactoperoxidase, and potassium thiocyanate, Petrodex declares aspergillus niger fermentation extract, Vets Preferred declares saccharomyces enzymes, and the Arm & Hammer kit declares proteases. The idea is that the enzyme works with saliva rather than relying on abrasion, so compare which enzymes are named rather than assuming the word enzymatic means the same formula.
Calprox. Petsmile’s proprietary name for a blend of encapsulated calcium, phosphates, magnesium, and minerals. It appears in both Petsmile entries here. It is a branded ingredient, which means it is worth reading the rest of that panel rather than treating the name as a guarantee.
Abrasives and builders. Hydrated silica, dicalcium phosphate, calcium carbonate, and sodium hexametaphosphate appear across these panels. These are the particles and salts that physically help lift deposits, and their presence is one reason a paste without foaming agents still cleans.
Zinc and green tea. TropiClean lists green tea leaf extract and zinc chloride in its panel, the two ingredients most associated with breath-freshening positioning in a gel format.
Denta-C and ascorbic acid phosphate. The Nylabone kit’s Denta-C blend is paired with ascorbic acid phosphate, a vitamin C derivative, in its printed panel.
Xylitol. Worth calling out because it belongs on the list of things people ask about. One listing here, RADIUS, states explicitly that it is xylitol free. If a toothpaste for pets contains xylitol, that is a reason to stop and read, since xylitol is toxic to dogs in sufficient quantity.
What is not here. No listing in this roundup declares EPA, DHA, or any omega-3 content, and none declares a fluoride level in the sense a human toothpaste would. Anyone quoting an omega-3 number for a dental paste is quoting a different product category.
How to brush a dog’s teeth without a fight
The published directions in this roundup agree on a sequence far more than they disagree, and the sequence is the reason some owners succeed and others give up in week one.
Start with taste, not with a brush. Petrodex, Nylabone, and the Arm & Hammer kit all publish this step explicitly: put a small amount of paste on your finger and let the dog lick it off. Do this for several days before you introduce hardware, because the goal in week one is not cleaning, it is changing what the dog expects when you reach for its face.
Then use a finger. The finger brush or a bare fingertip is the gentlest tool, and Nylabone’s directions specifically say to rub the teeth and gums in a circular motion with your finger before you introduce either brush. Several review summaries in this roundup note that the finger brush is what owners of small dogs ended up using most.
Then brush a little, not a lot. Petrodex’s directions are the most explicit of the ten: gently pull the lips and cheeks up, use short back-and-forth strokes at the gumline, brush only a few teeth the first time, and give a lot of praise during the process. Petsmile’s directions add the useful timing rule of about thirty seconds per side.
Then make it routine and stop rinsing. Every direction panel in this roundup either says no rinsing is necessary or says do not rinse, and Petsmile’s gel allows food and water straight after. None of these pastes needs a rinse step, and adding one turns a thirty-second job into a wrestling match.
Storage, safety and dosing reminders
Several listings print safety text that is easy to skim past. Four points repeat, and they are worth repeating here.
First, store the tube at room temperature. Both Petrodex and Nylabone say this in their directions, and it matters for pastes built on oils and enzymes that can separate in a hot car. If you do see the paste separate or streak, the review record suggests a dog is less likely to accept it.
Second, keep the product out of reach of children, and keep the hardware away from the dog between sessions. The Nylabone safety panel carries an explicit choking warning because the kit contains small parts, and the TropiClean panel warns to contact a poison control centre immediately if the product is swallowed by a person.
Third, on dosing, be honest about what these labels actually say. Not one of the ten publishes a body-weight chart, because a toothpaste is applied at each brushing rather than dosed by mass. The published quantities instead are a small amount, a pea-sized amount on a finger, a pearl-sized drop, or two drops per side for the gel. That is the real instruction, and it is why this article does not print a weight table for any of them.
Fourth, read the tube rather than this article. Ingredient panels change, and the RADIUS listing is a good example of why the distinction matters: it is the one entry here whose safety panel says do not ingest rather than stating that swallowing is acceptable.
When bad breath needs a veterinarian, not a toothpaste
Call your veterinarian rather than buying another tube if your dog has loose teeth, gums that bleed readily, a swelling under the eye or on the muzzle, a jaw that clicks or hurts, difficulty eating or dropping food, drooling that is new, or breath that is not just stale but sharply foul or sweet-smelling. The last of those can point to problems outside the mouth, and no toothpaste addresses it.
This matters because bad breath is a symptom rather than a condition. The listings in this roundup are honest about the limit: several state outright that the product is not a substitute for a professional veterinary dental cleaning, and the Petsmile entries go further and describe the bacteria from infected gums travelling through the bloodstream to the heart, liver, and kidneys. A toothpaste manages daily plaque between professional cleanings. It does not remove tartar that has already formed, and it is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.
If your dog is already under treatment or on medication, ask your veterinarian before changing anything about its dental routine, and bring the actual tube to the appointment. The ingredient panel on the packaging is more accurate than any article, including this one.
Frequently asked questions
Can I use human toothpaste on my dog? No. Every listing in this roundup is formulated to be swallowed by a dog, and human toothpaste is not. Keep human paste and mouthwash away from your dog, and use a product made for pets.
Do I have to use a toothbrush? No, and two products here are built around that. The TropiClean gel is applied as two drops per side of the mouth, and Petsmile states its paste can be applied straight to the enamel. Both listings also note that reaching the gumline is easier with a brush, so treat the no-brush option as the fallback rather than the ideal.
How often should I brush? The directions panels in this roundup consistently say daily. The Arm & Hammer kit says daily for best results, Petsmile says use daily for optimal oral health, and the C.E.T. bullets say apply daily or as directed by your veterinarian. Daily is the published instruction across the category, though the honest reality in the reviews is that many owners brush a few times a week.
Why is my dog’s breath still bad if I brush every day? Because a toothpaste manages plaque on the surfaces it reaches and does not remove tartar that has already hardened, and it cannot reach under the gumline the way a veterinary cleaning does. If brushing daily has not changed the smell after several weeks, that is a reason to book a veterinary dental exam rather than to switch pastes.
Is a flavoured paste safe to swallow? Yes for the products designed that way. The C.E.T. bullets state there are no foaming agents so the paste is safe for pets to swallow, and the glycol-based pastes in this roundup are all built for a dog that will swallow what you apply. The exception is the RADIUS entry, whose safety panel says do not ingest, so read the panel on whichever tube you buy.
Which one should I start with? If your dog has never had its teeth brushed, start with a kit that includes a finger brush and directions written for beginners. If your dog already tolerates brushing, start with whichever enzymatic paste matches a flavour your dog will accept, because the review record across all ten listings says palatability is what decides whether the routine survives past week two.
Final thoughts
If you want a single recommendation from this roundup, choose by flavour acceptance first and packaging second, and read the ingredient panel third. The most-reviewed paste here is the C.E.T. line, which leads the Amazon dog toothpaste category and publishes the clearest direction set of the ten. Its vanilla mint flavour is the best choice if you dislike the smell of meat; its poultry version is the safest bet if your dog refuses mint. The Petrodex tube is the value pick on volume, the Nylabone and Arm & Hammer kits are the right starting point for a puppy or a first-time brusher, and the Petsmile entries are the ones to consider if the Veterinary Oral Health Council acceptance is what you are paying for.
Whoever you choose, treat the purchase as the start of a routine rather than a cure. Brush a few teeth at a time, stop while your dog is still willing, and book a veterinary dental check if you see anything that looks like tartar, inflammation, or a smell that brushing does not touch. That approach will serve your dog better than any single tube in this roundup.
Amazon affiliate disclosure: This article contains Amazon affiliate links, and HerbandFur may earn a commission from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you. Nothing here is veterinary advice, and no dental product is intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Always consult your veterinarian about your dog’s teeth and overall health.